THE TRANSFORMERS: THE MOVIE Soundtrack is Being Released on Vinyl

Now before anyone thinks otherwise, I’m talking about the 1986 The Transformers The Movie soundtrack and not the the live actions film which NEED TO STOP BEING MADE (My own opinion and may or may not represent the feelings of the other Geek agents).

The Transformers: The Movie
Image via: Intrada

I got a happy e-mail announcing this awesome release by Intrada. I still own the original vinyl release to do this very day but that is only one LP. This new release will be a 2LP set on premium 180 gram vinyl. It will also have a full-color gatefold jacket housed in a heavy polywrap bag.

This new release will include more if not all the music from the animated feature and I am excited. The original release only had 10 tracks while this new re-issue will include 25 tracks! Check out the track list and that radical art work below!

  • Unicron Attacks
  • Moon Base 2 – Shuttle Launch
  • Space Attack
  • Fishing
  • Autobot/Decepticon Battle
  • Prepare For Extermination
  • Optimus Prime vs. Megatron
  • Megatron Departs
  • I Am Unicron
  • The Coronation
  • Moon Base 1 Destroyed
  • Escape
  • Closing In
  • Crash Landing
  • Twisted Planet
  • The Wrong Way
  • Destroy The Matrix
  • The Trial
  • Decepticon Attack
  • Unicron Transforms
  • The Matrix
  • Attack On Unicron
  • Reunited
  • The Fight Continues
  • Legacy
The Transformers: The Movie
Image via: Intrada
The Transformers: The Movie
Image via: Intrada

Now on 2-LP 180-gram vinyl! Original soundtrack from initial big-screen animated treatment of The Transformers, a potpourri of numerous iconic battling robot characters spawned from Hasbro television mini-series that became wildly popular in subsequent syndication. Cars, trucks, toy dinosaurs, you name it became behemoths of warring destruction. Vince DiCola, fresh off dynamic score for Rocky IV, brings sizzling modern up-tempo sensibilities to his electronic score for Transformers, melds driving energy with striking fully-composed quasi-orchestral themes, motifs. Exciting compositions result, with plethora of rhythms infused with composer’s unique harmonic vernacular on display. DiCola, who gets start as session keyboardist, then moves into scoring with Staying Alive, sequel toSaturday Night Fever, connects well with with director Sylvester Stallone, lands mega-hit Rocky IV and captures attention of TV producers transforming Hasbro’s small-screen robots into big-screen monoliths. Intrada presented first widely available release of score on CD in 2013, courtesy Sony Music, which initially appeared only as very limited “BotCon” editions in 1997 & 2001. Intrada release also features composer’s “Legacy”, originally written as six-minute powerhouse demo for producers during early stages of project. Now for 2016, Intrada premieres their complete 2013 version in a special 2-LP set on premium 180 gram vinyl, including deluxe UV-coated full-color gatefold jacket with artwork title on spine, contained in heavy polywrap bag. Vince DiCola composes, performs.

So you bet your sweet Grimlock that I’m going to be getting myself a copy of this release. I’m gonna stop writing now and order my The Transformers: The Movie LP!

You can order your very own copy now at Intrada!!

Previous post

Coming to Toonami on April 16: Hunter x Hunter

Next post

BLU-RAY INVASION Weeks of 3/22 & 3/29

The Author

Gladys Angulo

Gladys Angulo