Mondo Joins Forces With Studio Ghibli For Latest Vinyl Release, Kokyo Kyokushu

Though already a heralded name within the print/art collector community, Mondo has quickly become one of the most prolific names in the limited edition vinyl soundtrack game. This year has seen the company put out a vinyl soundtrack nearly every month, ranging from beloved Horror (Poltergeist) to Sci-Fi (Oblivion) to modern day films with beloved scores (Drive and Maniac). Each release features artwork from the hottest names in the art print community and typically features a standard black version with randomly inserted variants that up the ante of collectibility and scarcity.

For it’s latest release, Mondo has joined forces with animation powerhouse Studio Ghibli and shaking things up in the process with it’s latest release Studio Ghibli Kokyo Kyokushu. For one, this will not be a release limited to one soundtrack. Rather, this will be a compilation of sorts comprised of various tunes from some of Ghibli’s most beloved films including Princess MononokeSpirited Away, and Howl’s Moving Castle. This is a double LP release with a deluxe gatefold pressed on 180 gram vinyl and promises to be a must own for Ghibli and music fans alike.

While Mondo is keeping things somewhat in line by enlisting Tyler Stout to design the sleeve art ( he also provided the art for their Drive release), the company is mixing things up a bit by offering three separate vinyl options, each with different front sleeve design and their own specific color of vinyl. First is the Howl’s Moving Castle version, which features a Japanese obi and lettering and with Purple and Pink vinyl. Then there is the Spirited Away with Yellow and Green vinyl and lastly Princess Mononoke with Red and Blue vinyl. Remember, musically these are all the same release. The difference lies in the sleeve art and vinyl color.

The following is a complete track listing for this release, as well as what films the songs are from.

  1. Chapter One – The Legend of Ashitaka
  2. Chapter Four – Princess Mononoke
  3. Chapter Eight – Ashitaka And San
  4. The Theme of My Neighbors The Yamadas – Orchestral Version
  5. Takashi And Matsuko’s Tango – Sinfonico
  6. Always With Me – Orchestral Version
  7. A Mysterious World
  8. The Moving Castle
  9. War War War
  10. Cave Of The Mind
  11. The Baron
  12. Pastorale
  13. Haru’s Memories

Tracks 1-3 From Symphonic Suite Princess Mononoke

Tracks 4-5 From My Neighbors The Yamadas – Classical Album

Track 6 From the film Spirited Away

Tracks 7-10 From Howl’s Moving Castle – Image Symphonic Suite

Tracks 11-13 From The Cat Returns – Original Soundtrack Album

Kyoko Kokushu Howl's Moving Castle art by Tyler Stout
Kokyo Kokushu Howl’s Moving Castle sleeve art by Tyler Stout

Mondo will be dropping these vinyl releases tomorrow, July 26th, at a random time at Each LP will be $30 each before shipping.

The best advice is to follow @MondoNews on twitter for information about when the vinyl is available as they tend to go super fast. With the added bit of Ghibli fandom that will no doubt be trying to get in on these releases, I think this one is definitely going to sell out quick!

Kyoko Kokushu Spirited Away art by Tyler Stout
Kokyo Kokushu Princess Mononoke sleeve art by Tyler Stout
Previous post

AlunaGeorge - Stream The Debut Album "Body Moving"

Next post


The Author

Matt Hardeman

Matt Hardeman

A lover and admirer of all forms of art, Matt Hardeman finds himself most drawn to Music, Television and Film. He believes that all three have the power to inspire and affect viewers in an innumerable amount of ways that very few other mediums can. Refusing to give in to a digital only future, Matt is a proponent of physical media, consistently adding to his Blu-Ray and Vinyl collections with each now totaling nearly thrice the amount of bones found in the human body. He is a regular contributor to TheHDRoom, ScreenInvasion and the Animation Fascination Podcast site. He is the proud poppa of four cats and is what some may call a beard enthusiast. He has a lovely wife and they both still think that farts are very funny. Also, GO HEAT!