Watch & Listen: The Knife Release First Single & Video From Shaking the Habitual

Its been six years since we last heard the gothic, thumping electro of The Knife’s Silent Shout. Six years since Olof Dreijer’s throbbing, ghastly synths scored sister Karin Dreijer’s piercing, digitally mutated howl.  Yes, there was Charles Darwin inspired opera between then and now, but dance floors have been a bit sunnier without the sibling duo from Sweden.

But now the Knife are back, and they’ve brought a metric ton of industrial tinged, nightmarish synth pop with them (though I’m finding it unbelievably difficult to classify this gratingly harsh bit of electronic music as “poppy”). “Full of Fire” is pulsating, mechanical, and just as terrifying as anything the siblings have put out thus far, and that’s what makes it so exciting. The recently released track-listing, which clocks their newest album, Shaking the Habitual (due April 8 from Rabid/Mute), at nearly one hundred minutes long with songs ranging from fifty-five seconds to over nineteen minutes, seems daunting on paper. Toss in a lead off single like this, and you have what promises to be one of the most challenging and engaging bits of electronic music in years.

The Knife have also released a demented, politically charged video to accompany “Full of Fire”. Filmed with an ominous, European style that would make Michael Haneke and Roman Polanski smile, the clip features gender-bending teens making out, S&M, and one seriously strange bit of house cleaning. Directed by feminist porn auteur, Marit östberg, the short is not exactly NSFW, but if there’s any chance of a superior or co-worker passing by, I’d probably just wait until you got home to give it a look. Included below the video is the cover art and track listing, just in case you needed any other reasons to piss yourself in fright.


Shaking the Habitual

01 A Tooth for an Eye 6:04
02 Full of Fire 9:17
03 A Cherry on Top 8:43
04 Without You My Life Would Be Boring 5:14
05 Wrap Your Arms Around Me 4:36
06 Crake 0:55
07 Old Dreams Waiting to Be Realized 19:22
08 Raging Lung 9:58
09 Networking 6:42
10 Oryx 0:37
11 Stay Out Here 10:42
12 Fracking Fluid Injection 9:54
13 Ready to Lose 4:36

Previous post

Relive the Magic: HARRY POTTER Jewelry

Next post

Oscar Nominated Short Films 2013: Predicting the Winners

The Author

Jacob Knight

Jacob Knight

Jacob Knight is a screenwriter, novelist and journalist from Slotter, Mass. He is most times fueled by scotch, horror films and the Criterion Collection. He currently resides in Philadelphia, PA with his wife and cantankerous Westie pup.